IQUA Menu Bar
IQUA Banner

Prof. John Lowe presents Prof. Pete Coxon with the Inaugural Frank Mitchell Award
The Irish Quaternary Association is proud to announce that its inaugural Frank Mitchell Award for Distinguished Service to Quaternary Research & Teaching was presented to Prof. Pete Coxon of Geography, Trinity College Dublin, December 2011.

Prof. Coxon earned his BSc in Geology & Biology at the University of Sussex (1973-1976) and undertook research for his PhD in the Subdepartment of Quaternary Research in Cambridge University (1976-1979) under the supervision of Prof. R. G. West.

Prof. Coxon has been at Trinity College Dublin since 1979 where he has made major contributions to our knowledge of the evolution of the Irish landscape from the Tertiary to Quaternary periods. Amongst his many other significant contributions are his work on the geomorphology and landscape evolution of parts of the Indian Himalaya and his recent roles in both IQUA and INQUA, the International Union for Quaternary Research.

The Award was presented by Prof. John Lowe of Royal Holloway (University of London) at a reception held in the Geological Survey of Ireland offices in Beggar's Bush, Dublin, following the IQUA Annual Symposium on Friday December 2nd 2011. Prof. Coxon was presented with a beautiful sculpture of bog oak by Kevin Casey. The oak itself has been radiocarbon dated to 5600 BP.


Attention early-career Quatenary scientists!

Nominations are now being invited for the 2017 award of the Sir Nicholas Shackleton Medal, which is awarded to an early-career scientist (normally less than 40 years of age or, if older, within eight years of completing their first PhD project). Candidates may be working in any branch of Quaternary science.

Closing date for receipt of nominations is 21 September 2016.

All information and forms can be found at:



The IQUA Research Awards 2016 will open for submission in the coming months.

These awards are designed to cover radiocarbon dates or laboratory fees, for instance those incurred in DNA or isotope analyses. Please email IQUA Secretary, Benjamin Thébaudeau (, to find out whether a particular analysis will be considered for an award. It is envisaged that the awards will be split among two or three applicants depending on the number and strength of applications received. 

All paid-up IQUA members of at least one year’s standing may apply. Please contact IQUA Treasurer Kieran Craven ( if you are unsure whether your membership fees are up to date.


We are pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural round of IQUA Research Awards 2013. The winners were announced at the IQUA Symposium on November 29th, 2013, and were as follows: Michael Philcox of Trinity College Dublin and Karen Molloy of the National University of Ireland, Galway, were each awarded 2 dates. Steve Davis and Graeme Warren of University College Dublin were awarded 1 date, and Anthony Beese of Carraigex Ltd was awarded 1 date. Congratulations to the winners.


IQUA proudly organises the Bill Watts 14CHRONO Awards, in memory of W. A. Watts, a founding member of IQUA who passed away in 2010. The Awards are generously supported by the 14CHRONO Centre at Queen’s University Belfast.

The Awards pay for a number of AMS radiocarbon dates for current postgraduate members of IQUA, with each winner describing their research and the use of their free dates in short articles in the IQUA Newsletter.

Applicants must be working towards a Masters or PhD degree and be a paid up member of IQUA for a minimum of six months when the application is made. Please contact IQUA Treasurer Kieran Craven (

The Bill Watts 14CHRONO Awards are will open to submissions in the coming months.


Winners of the 2014 Awards (including the IQUA Research Awards) were Ellen O'Carroll, Malcolm McClure, Ruth Carden, Carlos Chique, Sabrina Renken and Suzanne Stoltze.

Winners of the 2013 Awards were Seamus McGinley of the National University of Ireland, Galway and Alwynne McGeever of Trinity College Dublin, each awarded three dates.

Winners of the 2012 Awards were Marian McGrath of University College Cork, Donna Hawthorne of Trinity College Dublin and Philip Stastney of the University of Reading, each awarded two dates.

Winners of the 2011 Awards were Michelle McKeown of the National University of Ireland, Galway and Thomas Roland of the University of Exeter, each awarded 3 dates.

Winners of the 2010 Awards were Beatrice Ghilardi of the National University of Ireland, Galway and Kieran Craven of Trinity College Dublin, each awarded 3 dates.


The Best Postgraduate Presentation Award at the 2016 Spring Symposium, hosted by School of Geography and Environmental Science, Ulster of University (Coleraine campus) were Carlos Chique and Martha Coleman.

The Best Postgraduate Presentation Award at the 2014 Spring Symposium, hosted by the School of the Human Environment, University College Cork, was awarded to Alwyne McGeever from Trinity College Dublin, for her fascinating presentation, entitled "Bog pines in Ireland".

The Best Postgraduate Presentation Award at the 2013 Spring Symposium, hosted by the Palaeoenvironmental Research Unit, School of Geography and Archaeology, NUI, Galway, was awarded to Michelle McKeown from the National University of Ireland, Galway, for her interesting and articulate talk, entitled "A palaeolimnological assessment of the influence of climate change and human impacts on lakes in Western Ireland".

The Best Postgraduate Presentation Award at the 2012 Spring Symposium, held in the School of Geography, Archaeology & Palaeoecology, Queen's University Belfast, was awarded to Michael Dempster of the University of Ulster, for his excellent presentation, "A geochemical approach to glacial sediment provenance in Northern Ireland."

INQUA Dublin 2019
Field Meetings
IQUA symposia
IQUA Publications
IQUA Membership
IQUA Awards
Contact IQUA
IQUA on Facebook
tag heuer replica
cartier replica sale
hublot replica sale
cartier replica sale
replica rolex sale